Passion Vomit

Thoughts

Dear Internet Roamers, 

I’m a joyful critic.

I am passionate about a lot of things: film, music, art, style and love. Within these categories, there are so many subcategories. And within those subcategories, there are sub-subcategories. Let’s just say that passions are like rabbit holes. Once you get in there, you realize that’s it’s a whole lot deeper than you first anticipated. It’s one thing to like to doodle while you listen to your answering machine drone, it’s another to have a passion for drawing- your exploration of technique, style, tools and artists will carry you through many hours which will feel like seconds. When you explore a passion it opens doors, and it opens you.

All that being said, I would say I’m on Level 1 of all of these interests.

I have a DSLR that I can get some good shots with, and I know what bokeh is. I’m no where near starting a photography business, or having people ask me to shoot their weddings.

I have taken art classes throughout my life, and have a good eye and a cooperative hand, but I’ve restricted my skills to personalized birthday cards.

I have a crazy addiction to all things fashionable, but I’ve picked up some bad shopping habits (it looks mediocre– who cares?! it’s on sale!), and have been lazy in my wardrobe choices (but it’s so comfortable!).

I have a desire to truly connect with people. I love meeting new people, and getting to know what their passions are. Especially ambitious people who are just going for it, no matter what field they happen to be in and in spite of the obstacles they face.

I’ve been a die-hard Blogger user for 5+ years, but decided I needed a change. Much must change in 2013. But I don’t want a diet life. Diet life doesn’t taste as good as real life. Things will change slowly, with each choice I make to pursue what I love, and to express myself and to spend time with people. This is no fad, homies.

So back to the critic thing. I have very high standards for myself, and for those around me. I get frustrated when people don’t do their best, or when I can’t achieve what I want to. This is why I’m here. To share with you all the triumphs and failures as I pursue my passions. To get feedback to improve, to inspire and to challenge you to get your butt in gear this year and do what you love. It’s difficult to assign time to all the things you love, and to focus on consistent improvement. But that is that plan, that is the goal.

While I may be critical, I don’t hold on to criticism tightly. I hear it, take it for what it is, and learn from it. That’s the only way to improve and move forward.

I take joy in the process.

Would you join me?

-jessi hannah jay.

ps. Follow me on Twitter & Instagram @jessihannahjay

Leave a Reply

