Spring is Cutting it Up

Style

Dear People Anticipating Bikini Season,

In my shopping ventures of the past few weeks, it seems the trend from last summer is going to continue. Crop everything. The shorter the crop the better. At least they’ve got some better high-waisted options available to go along with the crop tops to give a bit more coverage. However, the shorts are pretty short too.

I’m pretty picky about where I will wear a crop top or short shorts. Washing the car in the dead heat of August, and the beach, or a casual picnic at the park are pretty well my limits. If I am going into a store, or will see extended family, I’m just not comfortable with it. I think the cropped trend is fun (and functional, if it’s hot!), but I don’t think it’s appropriate for every situation (in my world, anyways). As a general rule I never wear low-rise jeans with a crop top.

The past few days have been sunny, and I realized I don’t have any denim shorts. So I DIYed it (seen below). I’m thinking of doing some kind of roll up trim with some other material or maybe distressing them.

Going through my closet yesterday I realized I really jumped on the crop trend last year, I found about 5 or 6 tops that show my abs stomach.

Tops and shorts aren’t the only thing being reduced in size (though never in price it seems, what’s up with that? Less material=less $$… guess not). On the Ellen show the other day, she went through the current bathing suit trends. It’s a good laugh. Click here to watch that.

Now that I’m off school (had my last exam yesterday!), I will be posting a lot more. I am so excited to get going on all my ideas for my blog here, and also the YouTube channel I’ll be starting soon.

Here’s my own little “Polyvore” kind of picture. Let me know if you like this kind of thing in the comments below. I’d love to make more!

cropoutfit

What do you think of the cropped trend? Ready to bare all when the sun comes out? Comment below!

-jessi hannah jay.

Follow me on Instagram & Twitter @jessihannahjay

I lost my phone so I won’t be updating IG for a while! 😥

2 thoughts on “Spring is Cutting it Up

Leave a Reply

