Skip the Charades

Uncategorized

Let’s skip the charades
You’re seeing right through me anyway
Can we just speak plain?
We’re playing for the same team 
But I’m the one that’s acting like
Acting like
Acting like
I’m so strong
You’re the one that’s acting like
Acting like
Acting like
Nothing’s wrong

I listened to this song on repeat for the last hour of my long run yesterday. I really want to cover it, but I have to learn the tab first. Doesn’t music have such an amazing ability to clear your mind or make you think even more deeply? It’s interesting how in one season I appreciated certain music for the acoustic quality, for the voice of the artist… then in another, the lyrics pierce me deeply and make me ask questions about my life. 

Prior to this, I listened to the complete discography of Dallas Green (City & Colour) a few times. The questioning, melancholy theme that runs through all of his songs hit me hard yesterday and I appreciated his music in a new way. 

If you are going through a hard time in your life, I would encourage you to explore some music you have never listened to, or to pull out some music from your past that you haven’t heard in a while. When your soul is in a searching and vulnerable state, music can be all the more powerful. You may find that you aren’t alone, that your feelings are normal, or that you have the power to change things. You may find empowerment or sympathy through music. You may just find distraction. Or maybe you will find new meaning in the words of a songwriter that you’ve heard a hundred times. 

I don’t know what will happen. But I suggest you give it a try.

Cold War Kids and Dallas Green are some great artists to get you started. 

Leave a Reply

