Know Thyself

Uncategorized

After 30 minutes of unsuccessfully attempting to sleep (thanks, coffee), I started writing…

I like black socks over white socks, and I know nothing about the Red Sox… or any other sports team for that matter, though I like to watch sports and have played most of them at some point.

I love to be active, but also enjoy movies and TV. My favourite actors are: Tom Hanks, Robin Williams and Ethan Hawke. Good Morning Vietnam, Before Sunrise and Spirited Away are a few of my favourite films.

I can’t pass up a chance to see a band play live and I count the few concerts I’ve been to as highlights in my life. I’ve seen Ray Lamontagne, City and Colour, The Lumineers (2x). As well as a slew of Christian bands at conferences and coffee shop performances from my youth group days. On my list to see: John Mayer, Jason Mraz, Kings of Leon, Cake, Muse, Young the Giant, Metric, and Mod Sun among many others. I plan to go to Coachella, Sasquatch, Squamish Music Festival and the New Orleans Jazz Festival.

I like to be surprised but I hate to be unprepared.

IMG_8050

If you have dreams or want to hear about mine, I could probably talk to you for hours. I love to spend time with people, but mostly those who are closest to me… I also need me time, every day, to feel sane. Time to write, take care of myself, check things off my endless to-do lists, exercise.

I am terrible at going to bed at a decent hour and just as lousy at getting up early. My snooze button and I are in a seriously committed relationship. Once I fall asleep, I’m good, but I hate to call an end to the day, and find my most productive hours are in the middle of the night when people are asleep. Then I can hear myself think… that, or listen to Harry Potter audio books while I get work done.

I’ve tried to be vegan, vegetarian, paleo… I’m always reading about the best foods, diet, and lifestyle to be my best. Currently, I’m working on eating vegan about 80% of the time. That’s a good start for me, and I feel good about making less of an impact on the environment and contributing less to the inhumane slaughtering of animals and the wasteful practices of mass food production. I’m not an extremist; I will happily listen to anyone’s food philosophy as I’m still forming my own.

I love to people watch and the audio version of people watching- otherwise known as eavesdropping. I’m inspired by the snippets of other people’s lives that I catch at the grocery store, restaurants, in the street.

I want to make a difference in this life. Even if I am not remembered by many, I want at least one person to say when I am gone that their life would not have been what it was without something I did for them or said to them.

I like to sing. A lot. I don’t usually share this with people. As a perfectionist who has been near many people who I consider to be great singers, it’s always been difficult to step out in this area for me.

My eyes look brown, but they have a ring of green on the outside. My mom has brown eyes and my dad has green. It makes me happy that I got some of both.

I struggled with low self-esteem all of my teenage years. I always felt out of place because I compared myself to others… my skin wasn’t as clear, my clothes weren’t as expensive, I wasn’t excelling in the areas I thought I ought to… all silly reasons. My 21st year has been by far the best, and I feel like I am more confident and comfortable with myself than ever.

I will always be a dreamer.

I have a bad habit of mumbling comments and jokes when I am not sure of their laughter value.

I’m overly analytical, and I don’t mind. It makes me a good critical thinker and problem solver.

I love peppermint and hate spearmint.

Looking at photographs from middle school and high school makes me cringe. Then laugh. My favourite pictures of myself are either from my childhood- my mom took a lot of me and my siblings- and from various trips (California, Florida, Ottawa, France, Italy) I’ve taken over the years. Two things that make me happiest are being with family, and travelling to new places.

My favourite flowers are sunflowers and peonies.

Pizza is almost a guaranteed mood-booster in my books. In my opinion, pineapple and olives have no place on pizza.

I’m a gemini and I have come to appreciate and even seek out the dualism that is ever present in life. I’m adaptable and ever changing. I can be impulsive, but rarely act without thinking… Rather, I think a lot then act quickly so as not to lose my nerve. I think there are always (at least) two sides to every story. I am a good listener.

I am a free-spirit. I am passionate. Never apathetic. I feel with my whole being.

I need sun in my life, summer is my favourite season. I like running in the rain.

These are the things that make me who I am. There are many more experiences, qualities and preferences that I haven’t listed obviously, but these are the first to come to mind. The journey of self discovery is an exciting one. With it, the discovery of my place in the world around me, is just as fun.

Do you know yourself? What makes you unique? What dreams and ambitions do you hold close? What are you passionate about? 

 

2 thoughts on “Know Thyself

Leave a Reply

