Emotional Breakthroughs

dreams, Thoughts

What you are too afraid to overcome, you will become.

It’s so easy to focus on our problems and the reasons why true and lasting change in our lives is difficult. It’s easier to avoid the discomfort of pushing past our comfort zone where we are exposed and vulnerable. The fears and insecurities that hold us back from our potential feel so very real and can induce much anxiety when we think about facing the world, and about the choices we need to make in order to get where we want to go. 

It’s easy to sedate yourself. We do it with food, with TV, with substance abuse, with exhaustion.

The other day, I went on a hike with some friends. After having run a marathon six months ago, you think I’d be in shape. However, I didn’t overcome all my poor health habits while I was training for that marathon. Because I didn’t face and conquer all my issues- poor sleep, lazy nutrition, hydration, nicotine addiction… They returned when I didn’t have an event to train for, and times were “hard.” 

I was huffing and puffing and dizzy as we hiked a steep trail for an hour and a half. I knew I had to get to the top. I knew it would be worth it. But I sure did think about quitting because I felt so far behind everyone else.

I remembered, this isn’t a race. This is a nice adventure, and I should be grateful for the air punching in my lungs and the burn screaming through my muscles. I should be thankful that I am ALIVE, that I am part of this incredible earth for a short time. 

I have held fears of growth for a long time. 

When you overcome one thing, you have to overcome another. People start to expect things from you. You start to expect things from yourself. The bar for success and for failure is raised. 

What you are too afraid to overcome, you will become.

I want to become my hopes and dreams and aspirations and ideas. Not my fears. 

DSC_9937

So where is your focus? How do you want to change your life? How can you eliminate the fears holding you back?

You can make changes for the better!

Leave a Reply

