Christmas

Uncategorized

What an interesting Christmas.

The first in my 22 years on this planet that I am not in my little living room of my BC home.

The first without my parents. My dad is back in BC. My mom is in Ontario as her sister just passed on Christmas Eve. Though I never lived close to my aunt, I have very fond memories of all the times I spent with her growing up. She was the sweetest lady, and my heart breaks for my mom who has lost a sister. I don’t want to think of the days when I lose my two sisters.

There’s so much I have to be grateful for. However, these blessings are grandly juxtaposed with a homesick stomach, an aching heart and sporadically flooding eyes.

I’ve been up for 5 hours now, it’s Christmas morning. I went to bed before any of the kids; I was done with the day.

So, naturally, I woke up at 1 am.

It’s 7 am now. It’s a white Christmas, but we won’t see more than darkness outside for another 2 hours. The kids are up and excited to go downstairs to their stockings. I am already tired, but happy to have company now at least. Some coffee should remedy this for the time being.

I’ll keep hope for this coming year and everything that it holds. I will stay thankful and continue to work hard to get to where I want to be. I won’t take people for granted. I will say I love you more often. I will take every opportunity to do my best, to give my best, to give my all.

Merry Christmas all.

Leave a Reply

